Norwegian Odyssé

Norwegian Odyssé

Sunday, November 3, 2019 at 1:30 pm
Osberg Hall at the National Nordic Museum (map)

$30 General admission
$25 Nordic Museum & NWEGS members
$10 Students
Tickets available here.



  • The Seattle Modern Orchestra, Julia Tai, conductor
  • Laura Loge, soprano
  • Angelo Rondello, piano
  • Valen Trio – Einar Røttingen, piano, Ricardo Odriozola, violin, and John Ehde, cello

Join us for a concert that features living composers from Norway. From Rebecka Sofia Ahvenniemi’s mystic sounds to Lasse Thoresen’s meditation on Hagen (Garden), Knut Vaage’s epic Odyssé, a re-composing of Grieg op. 54, to the kaleidoscopic piano trio SVEV, this concert offers a vast array of Norwegian contemporary music. We will be joined by the renown Valen Trio from Norway, soprano Laura Loge, composer Knut Vaage, and conductor Julia Tai. The concert is in collaboration with Seattle Modern Orchestra, Northwest Edvard Grieg Society and Music Exchange International.


Program includes:

  • Rebecka Sofia Ahvenniemi: Barnet som blev osynligt
  • Knut Vaage: SVEV for piano trio
  • Lasse Thoresen: Hagen (The Garden)
  • Anders Torgunrud Røshol: LIVORNO FRAGMENTS
  • Knut Vaage: ODYSSÉ a re-composing of Grieg op. 54



Listen to the Valen Trio perform Greig’s Andante con moto.