Nordic Chamber Music: Nordic Neighbor – Poland

Nordic Chamber Music: Nordic Neighbor – Poland

A Symphony of Sorrowful Songs

Laura Loge, Artistic Director

  • January 26 at 7 pm
  • Central Washington University Concert Hall (map)
  • Free and open to the public
    • Livestream link here
  • January 29 at 2 pm
  • Ballard First Lutheran Church (map)
  • Tickets available here
    • $30 General Admission
    • $10 Student/Child Admission

In commemoration of Holocaust Remembrance Day, Nordic Chamber Music 2023 will present Seattle Chamber Orchestra’s founder Lorenzo Marasso’s own arrangement of Henryk Gorecki’s Third Symphony – A Symphony of Sorrowful Songs for two pianos and soprano, sung in the original Polish. Lorenzo will be joined by pianist Yerin Kim on the second piano and soprano Laura Loge for this moving work originally for orchestra. An exploration of the various transcriptions done by Polish and Nordic composers will round out the program.

Lorenzo Marasso, piano
Yerin Kim, piano
Laura Loge, soprano

On the program:
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Fantasia in C minor K 475 transcribed for two pianos by Edvard Grieg
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – “Lacrimosa” from Requiem arranged for two pianos by Michael Finnissy
Maria Szymanowska – Four Waltzes for Piano, 3 Hands
Henryk Górecki – Symphony of Sorrowful Songs arranged for two pianos and soprano

The 2023 Season of the newly rebranded and reimagined Nordic Chamber Music Series will be produced and underwritten by the Northwest Edvard Grieg Society. If you would like to support this series and ensure its future, please donate here!

Additional support is provided by individual donors and grants from the Barbro Osher Pro Suecia Foundation, the Seattle Polish Foundation, the American-Scandinavian Foundation, and ArtsWA. We are grateful for their support.